Certifying Ongoing Improvements (WPI-8)

Certifying Ongoing Improvements (WPI-8)


The Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) administers the Windstorm Inspection Program and issues Certificates of Compliance (WPI-8) for ongoing improvements.

Ongoing improvements include:

  • New structures, and
  • The following changes to Existing Structures:
    • Alterations
    • Remodeling
    • Enlargement
    • Repairs (including Reroofing)
    • Additions


Obtaining a WPI-8 for Ongoing Improvements

To obtain a WPI-8, an ongoing improvement must be inspected to certify that it is fully compliant with the windstorm building code. Property owners should follow the steps below to obtain a WPI-8:

  • Notify TDI to begin the WPI-8 process before beginning ongoing improvements.
  • Inspections of ongoing improvements may be performed by a TDI appointed qualified inspector; visit the TDI website for a list of TDI appointed qualified inspectors.

Some types of repairs may be minor or involve only a small portion of the structure and do not require a WPI-8. TDI provides a list of items that do not require an inspection on their website.

Exceptions to the WPI-8 Requirement

Texas law identifies several exceptions for structures lacking WPI-8s.

  • Properties with construction from 1988 to June 19, 2009 that are not certified may still be eligible. Policies insuring such structures are subject to a 15% surcharge
  • Applicants who are non-renewed or cancelled by their private market insurer on or after June 19, 2009, and whose structure is missing a required WPI-8 for construction, alteration, remodeling, enlargement, repair or an addition after that date, may be eligible with a premium based on 110% of the voluntary market rate.