Windstorm Certification Requirements

Windstorm Certification Requirements

In order to be eligible for coverage through TWIA, Texas Insurance Code Chapter 2210 states that any building constructed, altered, remodeled, enlarged, repaired, or added to on or after January 1, 1988 must have a Certificate of Compliance (WPI-8 or WPI-8-C) to certify that the structure meets the windstorm building code requirements. Without a Certificate of Compliance, TWIA lacks evidence that the structure conforms to the applicable building code, and the structure may be considered uninsurable and ineligible for coverage with TWIA. Limited exceptions that apply to this requirement are explained in the section on Certifying Ongoing Improvements (WPI-8).

The Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) administers the Windstorm Inspection Program and issues Certificates of Compliance (WPI-8) for ongoing improvements. Legislation passed in 2015 now authorizes TWIA to issue Certificates of Compliance (WPI-8-C) for completed improvements beginning January 1, 2017.

You may learn more about each path for obtaining a Certificate of Compliance (WPI-8 or WPI-8-C) through the below links on this page.


Certify Ongoing
Improvements (WPI-8)

Get Started with the TDI Process >


Certify Completed
Improvements (WPI-8-C)

Get Started with the TWIA Process >